

# **Planning Advisory Committee**

#### Minutes

Meeting #:	1
Date:	Thursday, February 22, 2024
Time:	5:30 pm
Location:	Colonel By Room, 110 Laurier Avenue West, and by electronic participation
Present:	Alexus Ball, Jason Burggraaf, Jason Huang, Zachary Hunter, Dean Karakasis, Anna Lenk, Carolyn Mackenzie, Busingye Nurudin, Francois Rivest, Josiane Roberds, Changhong Sun, Colin White
Present non-voting Member:	Councillor Jeff Leiper

1. Notices and meeting information for meeting participants and the public

Members of Committee and Council, City staff, media and the general public may join the meeting remotely with the following link:

Zoom Webinar ID : 874 9309 6554

Those who require a telephone number to call into the Zoom meeting may contact the committee coordinator.

This meeting will be live streamed and archived to the <u>Ottawa City Council</u> <u>YouTube channel</u>. This meeting's recording will also be uploaded to the <u>City's</u> <u>agendas and minutes web portal (eScribe)</u> after the meeting.

Notices and meeting information are attached to the agenda and minutes, including: availability of simultaneous interpretation and accessibility accommodations; personal information disclaimer for correspondents and public speakers; notices regarding minutes; and hybrid participation details.

Accessible formats and communication supports are available, upon request.

The deadline to register to speak by phone or email, or submit written comments or visual presentations is 4 pm on the day of the meeting.

2. Declarations of Interest

No Declarations of Interest were filed.

- 3. Confirmation of Minutes
  - 3.1 PAC Minutes 9 June 15, 2022

Carried

# 4. Committee Items

4.1 <u>Election of Chair and Vice-chair</u>

The Committee considered item 5.1, then returned to this item.

Caitlin Salter MacDonald, Manager of Council and Committee Services, provided an overview of the election process.

Following nominations for the position of Chair, the sole nominee, Carolyn Mackenzie, was acclaimed to the position of Chair for a term of one year.

Following nominations for the position of Vice-Chair, the sole nominee, Zachary Hunter, was acclaimed to the position of Vice-Chair for a term of one year.

# Recommendation

# That the Planning Advisory Committee elect a Chair and Vice-Chair.

- 5. Office of the City Clerk
  - 5.1 <u>Adoption of Planning Advisory Committee Procedure By-law and</u> <u>Mandatory Policies for Advisory Committees</u>

File No. ACS2024-OCC-CCS-0019 - City-wide

Caitlin Salter MacDonald, Manager of Council and Committee Services, presented an overview of the report, including the proposed Rules of Procedure, and answered questions from the Committee. A copy of the slide presentation is filed with the Office of the City Clerk.

There were no public submissions on this item.

Following discussions, the Committee considered the report recommendation(s) as follows:

Report recommendation(s)

That, as set out in the <u>Advisory Body Review report</u> (ACS2023-OCC-GEN-0008), approved by City Council on July 12, 2023, the Planning Advisory Committee approve:

- 1. The Planning Advisory Committee Procedure By-law (Document 1);
- The Policies for sale and disposition of land, hiring of employees and procurement of goods and services (Document 2);
- 3. The Rules and procedures regarding the use of resources during the election campaign period (Document 3).

Carried

- 6. Planning, Real Estate and Economic Development Department
  - 6.1 <u>Presentation of the draft 2024 Work Program for the Planning, Real Estate</u> and Economic Development Department planning matters

Stephen Clark, Program Manager, Project Management and Stakeholder Relation, and Court Curry, Manager, Right-of-Way, Heritage and Urban Design Services, presented an overview of the item and answered questions from the Committee. A copy of the slide presentation is filed with the Office of the City Clerk.

Royce Fu, Manager, Policy Planning, also answered questions.

There were no public submissions on this item.

Committee discussion on this item included the following topics:

- Committee of Adjustment applications and pre-consultations
- Federal government funding and programs
- "As of right" multi-unit zoning

Following discussions, the Committee considered the report recommendation(s) as follows:

# Recommendation

That the Planning Advisory Committee receive the Planning, Real Estate and Economic Development Department draft 2024 Work Plan Report and presentation for information.

#### Received

#### 6.2 Update – 2024 New Zoning By-law

Carol Ruddy, Program Manager, Zoning and Intensification, presented an overview of the item and answered questions from the Committee. A copy of the slide presentation is filed with the Office of the City Clerk.

Royce Fu, Manager, Policy Planning, also answered questions.

There were no public submissions on this item.

Committee discussion on this item included the following topics:

- Intensification and number of units permitted per lot
- Impact on drainage, stormwater and ditches
- Fifteen-minute neighbourhoods
- Public consultation and timelines
- Infrastructure and making development cost-effective
- Minimum parking requirements
- The Housing Accelerator Fund

Following discussions, the Committee considered the report recommendation(s) as follows:

#### Recommendation

# That the Planning Advisory Committee receive the presentation for information.

#### Received

7. Notices of Motions (For Consideration at Subsequent Meeting)

There were no Notices of Motion.

8. Inquiries

There were no Inquiries.

9. Other Business

Member C. White requested that the Committee consider discussing Zoning Bylaw enforcement at a later meeting.

Caitlin Salter MacDonald, Manager of Council and Committee Services, responded that where Members wish to consider additional items, they could

communicate this to the Chair, who would work with the committee coordinator to consider with staff whether such a matter could be incorporated into upcoming agenda items.

10. Adjournment

Next Meeting: to be determined.

The meeting adjourned at 7:59 pm.

Eric Pelot, Committee Coordinator

Carolyn Mackenzie, Chair