

#### **Planning Advisory Committee**

#### Minutes

Meeting #:	2
Date:	Tuesday, December 17, 2024
Time:	5:30 pm
Location:	Electronic Participation
Present:	Chair Carolyn Mackenzie, Alexus Ball, Jason Burggraaf, Dean Karakasis, Anna Lenk, Francois Rivest, Josiane Roberds, Changhong Sun, Colin White
Absent:	Jason Huang, Busingye Nurudin
Present non-voting Member:	Councillor Jeff Leiper

1. Notices and meeting information for meeting participants and the public

Members of Committee and Council, City staff, media and the general public may join the meeting with this link:

Zoom webinar ID: 868 4299 3452

Those who require a telephone number to call into the Zoom meeting may contact the committee coordinator.

This meeting will be live streamed and archived to the <u>Ottawa City Council</u> <u>YouTube channel</u>. This meeting's recording will also be uploaded to the <u>City's</u> <u>agendas and minutes web portal (eScribe)</u> after the meeting.

Notices and meeting information are attached to the agenda and minutes, including: availability of simultaneous interpretation and accessibility accommodations; personal information disclaimer for correspondents and public speakers; notices regarding minutes; and remote participation details.

Accessible formats and communication supports are available, upon request.

The deadline to register to speak by phone or email, or submit written comments or visual presentations is 4 pm on the day of the meeting.

2. Declarations of Interest

No Declarations of Interest were filed.

- 3. Confirmation of Minutes
  - 3.1 PAC Minutes 1 February 22, 2024

Carried

## 4. Committee Items

4.1 <u>Election of Vice-chair</u>

Robert Tremblay, Program Manager, Council and Committee Services, provided an overview of the election process.

Following nominations for the position of Vice-Chair, the sole nominee was acclaimed as follows.

#### Recommendation

That the Planning Advisory Committee elect a Vice-Chair.

## Motion No. PAC 2024-02-01

Moved by F. Rivest

That the Planning Advisory Committee approve the appointment of Member Colin White to the position of Vice-Chair for a term ending February 2025.

Carried

- 5. Planning, Development and Building Services Department
  - 5.1 Update 2024 New Zoning By-law

Carol Ruddy, Program Manager, Zoning and Intensification, and Tim Rowe, Strategic Programs and Project Officer, presented an overview of the item and answered questions from the Committee. A copy of the slide presentation is filed with the Office of the City Clerk.

Royce Fu, Manager, Policy Planning, also answered questions.

There were no public submissions on this item.

Committee discussion on this item included the following topics:

- Parking, parking rates, and driveway requirements in the villages and suburban areas
- Impacts of trees on servicing utility lines
- Stormwater management
- Timing of Council directions on the New Zoning By-law
- Non-residential uses in neighbourhoods
- Impact of the new Provincial Policy Statement on the new Official Plan and the new Zoning By-law
- "As we heard it" documentation relating to industry consultation
- Timelines for staff responses to written comments
- The Zoning By-law's role among others in making Ottawa more livable
- How additional density will be developed and whether "overshooting" is required in areas that are already achieving more density
- Rate of density absorption across the City, and the need for infrastructure

Following discussions, the Committee considered the report recommendation(s) as follows:

# Recommendation

# That the Planning Advisory Committee receive the presentation for information.

# Received

6. Notices of Motions (For Consideration at Subsequent Meeting)

There were no Notices of Motion.

7. Inquiries

There were no Inquiries.

8. Other Business

There was brief discussion on the new urban boundary expansion Official Plan application process. Royce Fu, Manager, Policy Planning, and Robert Tremblay, Program Manager, Council and Committee Services, briefly responded to the question. 9. Adjournment

Next Meeting: to be determined.

The meeting adjourned at 7:32 pm.

Mélanie Blais, Committee Coordinator Carolyn Mackenzie, Chair