

## Accessibility Advisory Committee

Minutes

Meeting #: 23

Date: Tuesday, May 20, 2025

Time: 6 pm

Location: Electronic Participation

Present: Chair Vania Karam, Vice-Chair Holl Ellingwood, Wayne

Antle, Ana Maria Cruz-Valderrama, Matthew Eliot, Jodi Fisher, David Humphries, Paula MacDonald, Anne Matio,

William Van Veen, Hannah Walhad

Absent: lan Bourrie, Murray MacDonald

Present non-voting Sue Cowin, Ryan Duchoeny

member:

1. Notices and meeting information for meeting participants and the public

Members of Committee and Council, City staff, media and the general public may join the meeting with this link:

## Zoom meeting no. 895 2027 5571

Notices and meeting information are attached to the agenda and minutes, including: availability of simultaneous interpretation and accessibility accommodations; personal information disclaimer for correspondents and public speakers; notices regarding minutes; and remote participation details.

Accessible formats and communication supports are available, upon request.

The deadline to register to speak, or submit written comments is 4 pm on the day of the meeting.

2. Declarations of Interest

No Declarations of Interest were filed.

- 3. Confirmation of Minutes
  - 3.1 <u>AAC Minutes 21 April 8, 2025</u>

Carried

3.2 AAC Minutes 22 - April 15, 2025

Carried

- 4. Communications and Correspondence
- 5. Infrastructure and Water Services Department
  - 5.1 <u>Duty to Consult Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005</u>

A slide deck presentation was delivered by Claire O'Donnell, Program Manager, Parks & Facilities Planning, Recreation, Cultural and Facilities Services Department; Agi Motz, Manager, Facilities Asset Management, Infrastructure and Water Services Department; Elizabeth Murphy, Program Manager, Transportation Engineering Services, Planning, Development and Building Services Department; and Kevin Wherry, Manager, Parks and Facilities Planning, Recreation, Cultural and Facilities Services Department; and Andrew J Smith, Program Manager, Infrastructure Renewal, Infrastructure and Water Services Department.

Two individuals delegated at Committee.

- Kyle Humphrey discussed snow clearing along sidewalks and pathways, and the impact upon those with mobility devices.
- Christine Comtois discussed snow clearing on pathways and accessible toilet design.

Members opened the floor for questions and answers of Staff. Claire O'Donnell, Program Manager, Parks & Facilities Planning, Recreation, Cultural and Facilities Services Department; Agi Motz, Manager, Facilities Asset Management, Infrastructure and Water Services Department; Elizabeth Murphy, Program Manager, Transportation Engineering Services, Planning, Development and Building Services Department; Kevin Wherry, Manager, Parks and Facilities Planning, Recreation, Cultural and Facilities Services Department; Andrew J Smith, Program Manager, Infrastructure Renewal, Infrastructure and Water Services

Department, and Tyler Cox, Manager, Legislative Services, Office of the City Clerk were available to answer questions.

Members raised the following matters:

- Pathway maintenance during the winter season
- Accessible public bathrooms at municipal facilities, including parks and pools
- Accessible benches and rest areas at municipal parks
- Accessible signage and wayfinding at municipal parks
- Variances required from City standards for forecasted municipal projects
- Forecasted accessibility audits
- Design standards for pedestrian and cyclist

Following questions and answers of Staff, the Committee received the presentation.

That the Accessibility Advisory Committee receive the presentation and provide feedback as appropriate.

Received

- 6. Information Previously Distributed
- 7. Notices of Motions (For Consideration at Subsequent Meeting)

There were no Notices of Motion.

8. Inquiries

There were no Inquiries.

9. Other Business

There was no other business.

10. Adjournment

**Next Meeting** 

Tuesday, May 27, 2025

The meeting adjourned at 8: 17 pm.

Original signed by A. El-Azzi,	Original signed by Vania Karam,
Committee Coordinator	Chair