

June 24, 2022

AMO Policy Update – New Cabinet Sworn In

Lieutenant Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswell has sworn in Premier Doug Ford and his new Cabinet at Queen's Park.

AMO President Jamie McGarvey sent a congratulatory letter to Premier Ford on June 3rd and discussions with the incoming government have started. Letters to Cabinet Ministers will also be sent highlighting issues that touch municipal governments in either a policy, regulatory, or program manner.

AMO is looking forward to priority discussions on key municipal issues including housing affordability and homelessness, climate change and sustainable infrastructure, transportation and transit, broadband and connectivity, rural and northern economic development, responsive and effective health, mental health and social services, and the fiscal sustainability of municipalities.

The new Ontario Cabinet is:

- The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs*
- The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health
- The Honourable Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance
- The Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Long-Term Care, Minister of Legislative Affairs and Government House Leader
- The Honourable Raymond Cho, Minister for Seniors and Accessibility*
- The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing*
- The Honourable Doug Downey, Attorney General
- The Honourable Jill Dunlop, Minister of Colleges and Universities
- The Honourable Vic Fedeli, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, with an additional mandate for small business
- The Honourable Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism*
- The Honourable Merrilee Fullerton, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services
- The Honourable Parm Gill, Minister of Red Tape Reduction
- The Honourable Michael Kerzner, Solicitor General
- The Honourable Stephen Lecce, Minister of Education
- The Honourable Neil Lumsden, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

- The Honourable Monte McNaughton, Minister of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development
- The Honourable Caroline Mulroney, Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs
- The Honourable David Piccini, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
- The Honourable Graydon Smith, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry*
- The Honourable George Pirie, Minister of Mines, with a mandate to develop the Ring of Fire*
- The Honourable Kaleed Rasheed, Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery
- The Honourable Greg Rickford, Minister of Northern Development and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
- The Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, President of the Treasury Board, with an expanded mandate for emergency management and procurement, including Supply Ontario
- The Honourable Todd Smith, Minister of Energy
- The Honourable Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure, with an additional mandate for government real estate
- The Honourable Lisa Thompson, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
- The Honourable Stan Cho, Associate Minister of Transportation
- The Honourable Michael Parsa, Associate Minister of Housing
- The Honourable Michael Tibollo, Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions
- The Honourable Charmaine Williams, Associate Minister of Women's Social and Economic Opportunity*.

*According to their election candidate profiles, these Cabinet Ministers have municipal government experience.

AMO is thrilled to note that now two Cabinet Ministers, Steve Clark and Graydon Smith, are former AMO Presidents.

We look forward to meeting all the new and returning Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Assistants at August's <u>AMO Conference</u> in the City of Ottawa.

*Disclaimer: The Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) is unable to provide any warranty regarding the accuracy or completeness of third-party submissions. Distribution of these items does not imply an endorsement of the views, information or services mentioned.