Accessibility Advisory Committee


Meeting #:
Electronic Participation
  • Chair Vania Karam, 
  • Vice-Chair Holl Ellingwood, 
  • Wayne Antle, 
  • Ian Bourrie, 
  • Ana Maria Cruz-Valderrama, 
  • Matthew Eliot, 
  • Jodi Fisher, 
  • Adele Furrie, 
  • David Humphries, 
  • Murray MacDonald, 
  • William Van Veen, 
  • and Hannah Walhad 
Non-voting member:
  • Councillor Marty Carr 

Rosa Ramos, Committee Coordinator
(613) 580-2424, ext. 21934,

Members of Committee and Council, City staff, media and the general public may join the meeting with this link:

Zoom meeting no. 819 7989 7252

Notices and meeting information are attached to the agenda and minutes, including: availability of simultaneous interpretation and accessibility accommodations; personal information disclaimer for correspondents and public speakers; notices regarding minutes; and remote participation details.

Accessible formats and communication supports are available, upon request.

The deadline to register to speak, or submit written comments is 4 pm on the day of the meeting.

  • Recommendation(s)

    That the Accessibility Advisory Committee receive the presentation and provide feedback as appropriate.



  • Motion

    BE IT RESOLVED that the Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) rescind Motion No. AAC 2023-01-01; and

    1. the AAC express to City staff and City Council that they no longer uphold their support for the continuation of the e-scooter pilot, and further express their very serious concern over the safety issues posed by e-scooters, both shared and privately-owned, to persons with disabilities, elderly and all vulnerable pedestrians;
    2. The AAC advise City staff to make it easier to report non-compliance and actively encourage all people who witness improperly parked e-scooters or e-scooters riding along the sidewalks to report this to the city;
    3. The AAC advise City Council to be prepared to stop the pilot if e-scooter riders continue to demonstrate that they are not operating the e-scooters in accordance with the rules and continue to pose a serious safety risk.

Next Meeting

September 17, 2024.